Honors & Awards

The winner of the golden chalk, the golden correction pen & the golden scale FS2019 are known!

Congratulations to the winner of the golden chalk, the golden correction pen & the golden scale!

Read more

Prix Schläfli 2019 an Physiker Matteo Fadel von der Universität Basel

Der Physiker Dr. Matteo Fadel von der Universität Basel gehört zu den vier jungen Forschenden an Schweizer Hochschulen, die von der Akademie der Naturwissenschaften (SCNAT) mit dem Prix Schläfli 2019 ausgezeichnet werden. Der Preis wird jährlich für die vier besten Doktorarbeiten in Naturwissenschaften vergeben.

Read more

Christina Psaroudaki is awarded the Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellowship

We congratulate Christina for winning the prestigious Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellowship. Her project "Engineering the dynamics of magnetic skyrmions using non-equilibrium protocols" will be carried out at the Californian Institute of Technology (Caltech) together with European partners at the University of Cologne.

Currently, Christina is a postdoctoral researcher in the group of Prof. Daniel Loss. Her research interests are in the field of magnetic systems with focus on the quantum dynamics of skyrmions.

We wish Christina continued success on her career path.

Read more

Peter Oelhafen gewinnt zusammen mit der BLS AG den Watt d'Or Preis 2019 in der Kategorie "Energieeffiziente Mobilität"!

Das Bahnunternehmen BLS und die Universität Basel gehören zu den Gewinnern des diesjährigen Energiepreises Watt d'Or, der vom Bundesamt für Energie vergeben wird. Sie erhielten die Auszeichnung für ein Modernisierungsprogramm für Schienenfahrzeuge, dank dem erheblich viel Strom eingespart werden kann. Lanciert wurde die Effizienzinitiative vom emeritierten Basler Physikprofessor Peter Oelhafen.

Read more

Katharina Laubscher is awarded Emilie-Louise-Frey-Preis 2018

At the 558th Dies Academicus, the Emilie Louise Frey-Preis 2018 is awarded to Katharina Laubscher for her Master thesis "Universal quantum computation using a hybrid quantum double model” carried out in the group of Prof. Daniel Loss.

Currently, Katharina is an Excellence Fellow of the PhD School “Quantum Computing and Quantum Technologies” and is doing her PhD in the group of Prof. Jelena Klinovaja in the field of topological quantum computing.


In her Master thesis, Katharina showed that it is possible to build novel planar quantum codes based on the combination of two different quantum double models, and that such hybrid codes constitute a novel pathway to universal fault-tolerant quantum computation. From a purely theoretical point of view, this is an important proof of principle and a large step towards a complete understanding of the quantum double models and their potential for quantum computation. From a more practical point of view, there may be direct advantages in terms of time- and special overhead of such a hybrid model compared to other techniques that enable universal fault-tolerant quantum computation, the most prominent one being a particularly resource-intensive procedure called magic state distillation.


Read more

Jelena Klinovaja promoted to rank of associate professor

Following outstanding evaluation by the tenure committee, approval by the Faculty of Natural Sciences, the Rectorate, and finally the Council of the University of Basel, Prof. Dr. Jelena Klinovaja was awarded tenure and promoted to the rank of associate professor.

Read more

Quantum Technologies Flagship: Basel physicists participate in three research consortia

Today, the European Commission launched its flagship initiative on quantum technologies. Three research groups from the Department of Physics at the University of Basel are involved. The aim of the 1 billion euro research and technology funding program is to develop radically new and powerful quantum technologies by exploiting various quantum effects.

Read more

Marta De Luca is awarded a SNF Ambizione grant

Ambizione grants are aimed at young researchers who wish to conduct, manage and lead an independent project at a Swiss higher education institution. The scheme supports young researchers both from Switzerland and abroad. Scientists holding non-professorial academic positions at higher education institutions are also eligible to submit an application. [Source: SNF]

Read more