Ehrungen und Auszeichnungen

Christina Psaroudaki is awarded the Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellowship

We congratulate Christina for winning the prestigious Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellowship. Her project "Engineering the dynamics of magnetic skyrmions using non-equilibrium protocols" will be carried out at the Californian Institute of Technology (Caltech) together with European partners at the University of Cologne.

Currently, Christina is a postdoctoral researcher in the group of Prof. Daniel Loss. Her research interests are in the field of magnetic systems with focus on the quantum dynamics of skyrmions.

We wish Christina continued success on her career path.


Katharina Laubscher is awarded Emilie-Louise-Frey-Preis 2018

At the 558th Dies Academicus, the Emilie Louise Frey-Preis 2018 is awarded to Katharina Laubscher for her Master thesis "Universal quantum computation using a hybrid quantum double model” carried out in the group of Prof. Daniel Loss.

Currently, Katharina is an Excellence Fellow of the PhD School “Quantum Computing and Quantum Technologies” and is doing her PhD in the group of Prof. Jelena Klinovaja in the field of topological quantum computing.


In her Master thesis, Katharina showed that it is possible to build novel planar quantum codes based on the combination of two different quantum double models, and that such hybrid codes constitute a novel pathway to universal fault-tolerant quantum computation. From a purely theoretical point of view, this is an important proof of principle and a large step towards a complete understanding of the quantum double models and their potential for quantum computation. From a more practical point of view, there may be direct advantages in terms of time- and special overhead of such a hybrid model compared to other techniques that enable universal fault-tolerant quantum computation, the most prominent one being a particularly resource-intensive procedure called magic state distillation.



Jelena Klinovaja promoted to rank of associate professor

Following outstanding evaluation by the tenure committee, approval by the Faculty of Natural Sciences, the Rectorate, and finally the Council of the University of Basel, Prof. Dr. Jelena Klinovaja was awarded tenure and promoted to the rank of associate professor.


Quantentechnologie-Flaggschiff startet mit dreifacher Basler Beteiligung

Heute lanciert die Europäische Kommission ihre Flaggschiff-Initiative zur Erforschung von Quantentechnologien. Daran beteiligt sind auch drei Forschungsgruppen des Departements Physik der Universität Basel. Das mit einer Milliarde Euro ausgestattete Forschungs- und Technologieförderprogramm hat zum Ziel, durch die Ausnutzung von Quanteneffekten eine radikal neue und leistungsfähige Quantentechnologie zu entwickeln.


Marta De Luca is awarded a SNF Ambizione grant

Ambizione grants are aimed at young researchers who wish to conduct, manage and lead an independent project at a Swiss higher education institution. The scheme supports young researchers both from Switzerland and abroad. Scientists holding non-professorial academic positions at higher education institutions are also eligible to submit an application. [Source: SNF]


Startup Qnami wins Venture Kick finals

The young startup of the University of Basel, Qnami, is the winner of the Venture Kick prize worth 130’000 Swiss Francs. Qnami develops precise and highly sensitive quantum sensors that provide images in nanometer resolution.


PhD Award for Daniel Riedel

Dr. Daniel Riedel, Postdoc in the team of Professor Richard Warburton and PhD student in the SNI’s PhD School until December 2017, received the Swiss Nanotechnology PhD Prize 2018 sponsored by the Hightech Zentrum Aargau. He received the award for his publication in Physical Review X about the improvement of the quality of photons generated by a quantum system.


Roland Buser erhält den diesjährigen Kulturpreises des Kantons Baselland!

Der Astronom Prof. Dr. Roland Buser von der Universität Basel hat den Kulturpreis 2018 des Kantons Basel-Landschaft erhalten. Die mit 25‘000 Franken dotierte Auszeichnung wurde dem emeritierten Professor am Mittwochabend an einer Feier in Laufen überreicht.